• Imagining History

What is the Mesolithic? - All the Important Bits for Key Stage 2

Updated: Mar 2

The Stone Age is split into three eras; the Palaeolithic, the Mesolithic and the Neolithic.

The Mesolithic Era is also known as the ‘Middle’ Stone Age. This is an accurate name, because it quite literally turned up in the middle; after the Palaeolithic ("Old" Stone Age) and before the Mesolithic ("New" Stone Age). Think of it as the delicious meat filling, sandwiched between the Old and the New Stone Age.

In Britain, the Mesolithic Era began around 8,000BC and ended around 4,500BC.

Here are some interesting things that happened during the Mesolithic Era:

  • The first homes were built in Britain - they were made of stone blocks.

  • First Canoes made - they were not made of stone blocks, that would be silly.

  • People started fishing. That's why most early settlements were built near rivers - to be near to loads of food!

  • The Dog became man’s best friend during the Mesolithic Era. It was a gradual process but after sufficient training and selected breeding, deadly man eating wolves became domesticated.

Are you a teacher? Yes? Then you'll definitely want Imagining History to bring their 'A Handy Guide to Survive the Stone Age' Interactive workshop to your school.

Our Award-Winning sessions combine role-play, storytelling, demonstrations and drama and performance to bring history to life for your students.

Find out more here!

Further reading:

Sign up for blog notifications

Receive updates on our latest blog posts* including new articles, history guides, arts & crafts ideas and more. 

Plus, it's all free!

Thanks for subscribing!

*We will not spam you or pass your information onto any third parties. You can unsubscribe at any time using the links at the bottom of the email. For more information, see our Privacy Notice or email us at the address below.

Choose a History Topic:
Support Us

To keep the Imagining History Resource blog content free, forever.